numerical index    composer index    artist index    online store    download store    home    info pages  
artist profiles:  Rozario  Rees  Fidelio Trio  
msv 28535
     checkout      view basket     my account  
cd image



First recording of atmospheric chamber and solo piano works by South African composer Robert Fokkens, ranging from teh abstract and universal (Nine Solitudes) to the overtly African-inspired, full of colour and vigour, the album also including the song 'Africa' set to texts by David Diop.

The Fidelio Trio is: Darragh Morgan (violin); Robin Michael (cello); Mary Dullea (piano)

playing time: 71.24  
direct sale price:  £12.00
audio  sample: 'Mob of Meerkats' from 'Mammals of Southern Africa'
buy one

Tracing Lines
Darragh Morgan (violin), Robin Michael (cello)
Inyoka Etshanini
Carla Rees (bass flute); Darragh Morgan (violin),
Robin Michael (cello)
Mammals of Southern Africa
Fidelio Trio
Nine Solitudes
Mary Dullea (piano)
On Disruption and Displacement
Robin Michael (cello); Mary Dullea (piano)
Irreconcilable Truths
Darragh Morgan (violin); Mary Dullea (piano)
Patricia Rozario (soprano); Mary Dullea (piano)

review extracts: for full reviews click here
“[This] new disc is everywhere infused with the spirit of [the composer's] home country. The result is a musical surface full of capricious interest. There is never a hint of banality. Fokkens also extracts considerable traction out of seemingly unpromising musical ideas. A highly rewarding programme of music.” – Christian Morris (Composition Today)

“Fokkens's well-defined compositional voice combines native South African with broader international musical concerns. Fokkens has been well served over the last decade by a growing number of performers and ensembles committed to his work, not least those represented on this disc, who offer here compelling, sympathetic accounts of his development in the field of chamber music.” - Edward Venn (Tempo UK)